The Ankara Conference on Peacebuilding & Conflict Resolution

"Using Cultural Diplomacy as a Tool to Build Sustainable Peace"

(Ankara, International Conference, April 17th - 19th, 2012)

Conference Speakers

The speakers during the conference will include leading figures and experts from international politics, academia, the diplomatic community, civil society and the private sector, from across the world. These speakers will include a number of individuals from the ICD Advisory Board.

To learn more about the ICD Advisory Board please click here.

Speakers for the conference include:
  • Dr. Ahmet Sözen
    Director, Cyprus Policy Center; Associate professor, Eastern Mediterranean University, Northern Cyprus
  • Ahu Ozyurt
    Moderator, CNN Turkey
  • Prof. Dr. Ali Fuat Borovali
    Professor, Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences, Dogus University
  • Dr. Alon Ben-Meir
    Researcher, Center for Middle Eastern and African Studies (USAK)
  • Arda Batu
    Vice Chairman, ARI Movement
  • H. E. Amb. Bekim Sejdiu
    Ambassador of Kosovo to Germany
  • Bikem Ekberzade
    Award-winning photojournalist
  • Prof. Dr. Bülent Aras
    Professor of International Relations, Isik University, Department of International Relations,
  • Dr. Damla Aras
    Researcher, Center for Middle Eastern and African Studies (USAK)
  • H.E. Amb. Drazen Hrastic
    Ambassador of Croatia to Turkey
  • H. E. Amb. Dusan Spasojevic
    Ambassador of Serbia to Turkey
  • Dr. Fuat Keyman
    Director of the Department of the Istanbul Policy Center and Professor of International Relations at Sabancı University, Istanbul
  • Hakan Altinay
    Nonresident Senior Fellow, Global Economy and Development, Brookings Institution, Former Executive Director of Open Society Foundation-Turkey
  • Dr. Havva Kök
    Peace studies expert, Center for Middle Eastern and African Studies (USAK)
  • H.E. Amb. Ian Biggs
    Ambassador of Australia to Turkey
  • Isabelle Dumont
    Second Political Counsellor at the Embassy of France in Ankara
  • H. E. Amb. Jaime García  Amaral
    Ambassador of Mexico to Turkey
  • H. E. Amb. Janis Bjørn Kanavin
    Ambassador of Norway to Turkey
  • H. E. Amb. Jean-Daniel
    Ruch    Special Representative for the Middle East of the Foreign Ministry of Switzerland
  • H. E. Amb. John Holmes
    Ambassador of Canada to Turkey
  • H. E. Amb. Jorge Arancibia Reyes
    Ambassador of Chile to Turkey
  • Prof. Dr. Jörgen Johansen
    Department of Peace and Conflict Studies, Hacettepe University
  • Dr. Kıvılcım Metin Özcan
    Associate Professor, Department of Economics, Bilkent University
  • H. E. Amb. Marcin Wilczek
    Polish Ambassador to Turkey
  • H. E. Amb. Marilyn J. Alarilla
    Ambassador of the Philippines to Turkey
  • Melih Gökçek
    Mayor of Ankara (tbc)
  • H.E. Amb. Dr. Milan Jazbec
    Ambassador of Slovenia to Turkey
  • H. E. Amb. Osman Faruk Loğoğlu
    Former Turkish Ambassador to the United States of America
  • Oskari Pentikainen
    Eurasia Senior Program Officer, Economy and Conflict, Caucasus Business and Development Network
  • Ozlem Piltanoglu
    Turkish Columnist and Politician of the Justice and Development Party
  • H. E. Amb. Pol De Witte
    Ambassador of Belgium to Turkey
  • Prof. Dr. Sadi Çaycı
    Lecturer, Public International Law, Baskent University, Faculty of Law
  • H. E. Amb. Sangkyu Lee
    Ambassador of South Korea to Turkey
  • Prof. Serdar Güner
    Professor, Faculty of Economics, Administrative and Social Sciences, Bilkent University
  • Shahid Najam
    United Nations Resident Coordinator in Turkey
  • Suat Kiniklioglu (MP)
    Member of the Turkish Parliament
  • Ural Aküzüm
    Chairman, ARI Movement
  • The Hon. Yasar Yakis
    Former Foreign Minister of Turkey, patron of the Ankara Conference on Peacebuilding and Conflict Resolution
  • Yusuf Kanli
    Columnist for the leading newspaper Hurriyet Daily News
  • Dr. Zerrin Torun
    Lecturer, Department of International Relations, Middle East Technical University, Ankara